1998 Terry Fox 10K

Sunday, November 8, 1998

Report by: Eric Barron

They say things come in three's. The Third Annual Terry Fox 5K/10K run provided a test of that theory. The last two years, the weather has been gorgeous--sunny and pleasant temperatures. This year, however, the rain stopped only hours before the race, and the skies remained gray and the air cool. Of considerably more importance, the last two years, TCLA has come away with the Tiffany bowl awarded to the fastest team, and it remained to be seen if a three-peat was in the offing.

Leaving as little to chance as possible, TCLA entered three teams in this year's 5K race. TCLA I would have scored high in a cross country meet as all five of its members finished within a few places of each other. Particularly strong performances by Steve Lopez, who set a significant p.r., and John Boscardin, who stayed mentally tough while fighting a cold, helped the team create what must now be considered a dynasty. Yes, the fastest team award for 1998 rests safely in the TCLA coach's office. Oddly, the toughest part about winning this year was not in the racing, but in the results. The dampness in the air played havoc with the computer scoring the results, and it was only after the race organizers were threatened with severe bodily harm that they finally managed to post results.

TCLA II, led by overall women's winner, Jacinda Raiche, also finished strong, and earned the fastest women's team award. This was in part due to Sarita Bhargava, whose intimidation tactics rounding turns successfully scared away most challengers. Also, Deanna Lernihan bravely overcame her desire to run in solitude, and Stephanie Cahn and Elizabeth Farnan gamely stepped in with little notice, to round out the team. Jacinda, who walked away with a stay for two at a Four Seasons hotel in San Diego, will have plenty of options in picking a roommate for her little vacation, but she should keep in mind who helped make her the runner she is.

TCLA III, whose members were in constant flux until 30 seconds before the gun, had good showings, including a fine 18:06 by Jeff Sakamoto and a 21:05 by Laurence Lavelle, two novices to road racing, and a 21:03 by alternate Wenise Wong.

Your search returned 0 result(s)